Count Your Blessings . . . For Fifteen Minutes!

   Yippee!  Today we finally got a nice rain, though parts of the county got up to 4" in about an hour.  That’s a bit much as desperate and dry and we are.  For supper tonight, I made ‘Fried Green Tomatoes’ which I could eat until they come out my ears.

  Today was a rather slow day for me, as was last night.  I have been having problems with my blood sugar skyrocketing and alternately plunging.  The plunges are the worst.  I woke up at 12:00 midnight on the dot not feeling very well.  I got up and checked my blood sugar and sure enough, it was only 60 which is very low for me.

   During the day yesterday, I had felt it drop and stuffed myself quickly with a large glass of orange juice, two cookies, a banana and when I checked it about 15 minutes lates it was still only 67!  Then and again about 1 AM I went for the peanut butter.  Not everyone is aware of the miraculous food that is.  If your blood sugar is high, it will lower it and if it is low, it will raise it.  That is the number one food to level out your blood sugar and I always have a jar on hand.  I even carry one when we travel since it is easy to keep and just eat a spoonful if I need to.

   For nearly a week now, I have been having super highs and super lows with my sugar.  It has been quite frustrating since I normally don’t have much trouble maintaining it at an acceptable level.  During the night as I pondered all that, I realized that I had been taking an enormous amount of Uva Ursi for that very nasty UTI since Friday and that is about the same time I started having such tremendous variations in my blood glucose levels.  Ta Da!!    So, today, I cut back drastically and hope that I have the UTI under control but also the blood glucose levels have remained quite normal.

   At any rate, I feel blessed to have been inspired to figure out the problem.  The Lord is like that if we will but take the time to focus on Him and ask for the help we need.  Of course, I like to think that I don’t have to wait until I have a need to call on Him.  I pray often and for everything.  One of the best solutions I know to being depressed or frustrated is to pray for 15 full minutes without asking for anything.  When I can take the time to thank Him for my blessings, it truly opens my eyes to precisely how very blessed that I am.  If you ever get discouraged, try it.  It works.  At first I thought it would be a huge challenge but once I get going, it gets easier and easier.

   The Lord is just so good to me: so much better than I deserve.  I think of the promise in Malachi 3:10.  The verse is about tithing and the promised blessings that come with it.  ". . . I will open the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it."  Wow, is that ever the truth!  Just look around our place and you will see that the blessings are overflowing:  the cupboards are full, the closets are full, the rooms are full, the garage, barn and two sheds are full . . . and then there are the spiritual blessings that just keep on coming.  I learned a very long time ago that I cannot outgive the Lord.

   He is just so good and gives us so much.  Even the trials and challenges are blessings because they enable us to focus on Him rather than ourselves and they give us such great experiences to help others with.  I know that He simply loves me too much to let me wallow in luxury and ease.  He knows that I have a greater potential to become more like Him and that can only happen when He affords me the opportunities to grow and mature spiritually as well as in wisdom and love.  Only through my trials have I grown to be so appreciative of the simple pleasures and blessings that surround me each and every day.  How grateful I am for such a kind and loving Father in Heaven. . .

  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment