What To Do!!!

Whew!  The last couple of days I have been pretty busy and yet have had more social time than I generally do.  Yesterday I went to town and got a manicure (time to treat myself).  Then I had banking and shopping to do, met a friend for a leisurely lunch and then more shopping.  It was a great day but I was all in.  Getting in and out of a hot car wears me down . . .

 

   Today I had laundry to do.  Then a friend called and invited me to come and play Scrabble, a game I dearly love to play.  We played a couple of games and then I had a doctor’s appointment.  After that I went back to my friend’s and we were joined by others for pizza and cheesecake and then we played Mexican Train dominoes.  My husband was gone this evening so it worked out just great but I am bushed.

 

   While at the doctor’s office (it was just a routine checkup with my primary care doctor), my blood sugar took a nose dive.  When they checked it, it was only 71 and so I popped the last three glucose tablets I carry with me into my mouth.  That helped a little bit, but later this evening the doctor who was covering for my physician at the hospital called me to check on me.  He was very concerned because the blood work showed that my sugar was really quite low.  I had not had a snack and have recently been having problems with it running high—quite high in fact.  I doubt my own doctor would have even called me.

 

   While in his office, he asked how I was doing and I began telling him how fatigued I was now that I was on Femara as well as Coreg.  He said, “who put you on that and what’s it for?”  Apparently this was the second clue I needed to change primary care doctors!  He had NO CLUE what I was talking about.  I went on and said that Dr. Mathews, the oncologist put me on it.  He said, “when did he do that?”  I said, following my double mastectomy in March of this year.  He said, “what are you talking about?”  I said, “Didn’t they send you a report on it?  Didn’t you get one from my surgeon, Dr. Rayburn?” 

 

   Eventually he found the report in my chart!  Then he said, “where do they take your blood pressure since they can’t use either arm?”  He had NEVER heard of taking it in the leg before!!  I am pretty disgusted with his office and with him.  I am just so sick of going to a new doctor who appears so interested during the initial visit as we go over my extensive medical history and then they are totally clueless after that!  My history is complicated to try and get them to understand.  Apparently I shouldn’t even be walking around talking with all the medical problems I have . . .

 

   It is very frustrating for me . . . and I am the clueless one when it comes to trying to find another doctor.  I do know that I really do need one and a good one, but where do I find one?  I am going to have to pray really hard about this  . . . I hate going to the doctors who have all my medical records and even though someone I trust recommended this doctor to me, I have been very disappointed in the level of care and concern I get from him and his staff.  What to do!  What to do? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment